On a personal note: dreams…goals…desires…

I’ve been thinking a lot about my goals in life and my dreams never explored. Or for that matter, the fear of exploring them in the first place. We all have a dream of what we want to accomplish in life, but how many of us actually have the courage to pursue?  What I’m realizing is, in order to pursue your dreams, you need a few things: An immense amount of self-confidence, patience, determination in the face of failure and maybe a little luck. Oh yeah, and a plan. I’ve had many ideas rolling around in my head for years, but without a plan, they are just ideas. Sometimes we go forward without a plan and get lucky, but those are the few and far between. It can also be disheartening when a plan doesn’t work like we thought it would. I have MANY of those examples.

I’ve made excuses for why I didn’t pursue a plan. I have started a plan and didn’t follow through because I felt I wasn’t good enough. Today, I’m here to say, I’m done with that mentality. It’s depressing and destructive. I want to be motivated everyday when I wake up to do something great. Even if it’s just a little at a time. I’ve been watching a lot of motivational videos and reading books on success. I’m no longer afraid to be seen in the self-help section! I truly feel you’ve got to do whatever it takes to stay inspired everyday and know you can do it. You can accomplish your goals.

I’ve posted 2 videos below that have really touched me. They are both very short and quick but send home a strong message. One is about never giving up and the other is about never making excuses. Motivation isn’t a one time thing. You have to continually remind yourself that you can and will get there. Watching videos like these and reading other’s success stories can really help start your day with determination and confidence.

Leave a Reply

